IHS kingpins


Ann Pomatto

Four of the Iola Special Olympics team members pose with their medals.

Nic Zimmerman, Staff Writer

The Iola High School special olympics team, which includes Mary Crites, Dakota Fry, Ty Johnson, Dakota Knowles, Ian Webber, Corey Sager, Paige Riley, Laura Simpson, Faith Simpson, Corrina Simpson, Alex Morris, and Manny Doolittle, competed in Pittsburg last week during a Special Olympics bowling tournament.

The olympians practiced for several weeks before the event and it paid off big for many who took home glossy gold medals despite the vast amount of competition. There were upwards of ten schools from surrounding areas at the bowling alley, and Iola High School stood out among them.