Scholars honored for high achievement


The National Honor Society met April 24 for induction of new members. Thirteen students were honored with the induction.
The new and current members were given certificates. The current members’ certificates included the number of community service hours each member completed. The seniors also received chords for graduation.
History teacher Travis Hermstein was the keynote speaker. NHS sponsor Amanda Thompson also spoke, as did NHS president Jordan Strickler. Thompson pointed out that this year’s club volunteered over 300 hours of community service.
New inductees must have above a 3.5 GPA. A council of teachers selects new members based on volunteer hours, respect to teachers and role models for peers. Members are required to complete 10 hours of community service per year and maintain the requirements for induction.
The new inductees are juniors Justice Hutton, Hannah Endicott and Shannon Vogel, and the sophomores are Colton Heffern, Travis Hermstein, Jo Lohman, Kaden Macha, Adam Peterson, Emma Piazza, Baylea Thompson, Jonathan Tidd, Shane Walden and Garrett Prall.
The new officers for next year are President Rebecca Cunningham, Vice President Adam Kauth, Secretary Mackenzie Weseloh, Treasurer Ricky Michael and StuCo Representative Michael Wilson.